Chocolate Mud Cake [Recipe]

I’ve been sick with a throat infection for the last week so I haven’t been baking much, instead I’ve been spending most of my days in bed on Pinterest looking at photos of Tom Hiddleston and I’m not even sorry about it.

ANYWAY. Before I got sick (or before I knew I was as sick as I was anyway) I made a chocolate mud cake because my sister asks me about once a week to make her one, so I finally did haha.
I found the original recipe here and have adapted it more to my taste.

Ingredients
250g unsalted butter, cubed
220g dark chocolate, broken into squares (the only reason I used 220g is because I used Old Gold and that only comes in 220g blocks and I didn’t want to waste the last 20g)
330ml milk
200g caster sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
35g self-rasing flour
25g cocoa powder
2 eggs

Method
1. Preheat oven to 170°C and grease/line a 22cm round cake tin
2. Combine butter, chocolate, milk, vanilla and sugar in a medium saucepan. Stir over medium heat until mixture is smooth.
3. Remove from heat and allow to cool for about 20 minutes. When the mixture is cool, sift over the flour and cocoa powder and add the eggs, then mix well to combine.
4. Pour mixture into pan and bake for 60 minutes or unil a few crumbs stick to a skewer.
5. Allow to cool in pan for 10 minutes then transfer to a rack to cool completely.

Chocolate Ganache
Ingredients
100ml thickened cream
200g dark chocolate

Method
1. Break the chocolate into small pieces and put in a large heatproof bowl.
2. Heat the cream in a saucepan over low heat until warm and just slightly simmering.
3. Remove the cream from the heat and pour over the chocolate. Mix well until the chocolate has all melted and the mixture starts to thicken.

I covered my cake with one layer of ganache then put it in the fridge to set for a little while, then put another layer of ganache on and made a little pattern to make the cake look a bit nicer.

1625705_10203683656826538_4683354267630221023_n

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

