Chocolate-topped Salted Caramels

I know this isn’t actually baking but whatever, I made these last week (it was a flippin’ ordeal to be honest but they’re pretty delicious so it was worth it!) 

I got the recipe from a magazine I found in the staff room at work. I usually find recipes then take a photo of them on my phone so I don’t have to take the page out of the magazine or write it down at work… Anyway, I have since deleted the recipe because I came across a tutorial on YouTube by the lovely Cupcake Jemma from Jamie Oliver’s Food Tube and I will be using her recipe next time! This tutorial is for lavender caramels but she has got instructions for salted caramels on there as well. I don’t understand why people put lavender in food, I think it tastes awful but whatever!

The original recipe I had used liquid glucose which is the most annoying thing in the world to try and get out of the jar/off of your hands/whatever but it obviously does help with the recipe so I’ll just have to deal with it!!! To top off my caramel I just melted 200g of dark chocolate and let it cool for a bit, then poured it over the top of my (set) caramel, then sprinkled some more salt on the top. 

10525636_10203309922563415_1403549258351473764_nOh and a good tip from Jemma which I didn’t have before I made these is to wrap them up individually in pieces of baking paper otherwise they spread out EVERYWHERE and get stuck to each other and end up like a big caramel puddle with some squares of chocolate randomly thrown on top hahah ugh. 

Leave a Reply

